The History of our Address
This impressive Victorian era detached nineteen-bay three-storey polychrome red brick building was designed by architect W.H. Hill. Strategically set on an elevated site that allows for fresh air and sunshine contributed to the care of the time in the Victorian era. The building has a three-bay full height central entrance breakfront to front (south) elevation having dormer attic. It is flanked by five bay blocks with wrought-iron verandas on the first and second floors and a three-bay breakfront at the end sections and a two-storey bow windows at ground and first floors. The external embellishments of polychromatic and moulded brick with finely carved limestone are eye-catching and colourful additions to the urban landscape.
The original hospital, was founded in 1872 by Frances Fitzgerald Gregg, it was located some distance away in Albert House on Victoria Street in Cork for the first 8 years. Fast becoming too small a committee was formed in 1874 who obtained this site on Corks iconic Military Hill. The building opened in 1879 and completed in 1881. 55 years later the it was extended with the addition of a new building “St. Brendan’s” in 1962 with another 12 bedrooms were added and 4 years later in 1966 the building was renamed as St. Lukes Home.
BECOMING THE ADDRESS
In 2013 the Hotel was purchased by its present day owners Brian and Ciara McGettigan who brought with them a long family History of Hotel management in Ireland. They quickly set about a compete refurbishment of all 70 bedrooms in the Hotel, the public areas and the Health Club. Working in sympathy with the buildings character they launched McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar which benefits dramatically form the exceptional elevated views over Cork City below. Through ongoing and consistent refurbishment and management this Hotel once again became a luxury four-star hotel and in 2020 it was renamed “The Address Cork” and took it’s place within The Address Collective, a collection of luxury hotels owned and managed by Brian and Ciara.
After a modernisation in 1972 it continued to operate as a hospital until 1994 when the facility was moved to Blackrock, Cork after 113 years on Military Hill. The building was purchased by William and Angela Savage and opened as a Four-Star Luxury hotel 2 years later in 1997, every care was taken to maintain the unique architectural design. In 2002 a major refurbishment saw the addition of a health centre, meetings and events centre and additional accommodation bringing to 70 the number of bedrooms.
Find Out More About The History of Our Address